Raised in the US South, my childhood was immersed in sports. Over time, my passion evolved into a mission to share overlooked tales from the sports world. I created Daily Dose of Sports to highlight stories of perseverance, legends, and unsung heroes. Today, I'm not just a sports enthusiast - I'm a storyteller. Read more about me here.

Minnesota and Wisconsin have met 126 times.  The rivalry’s first trophy was the “Slab of Bacon.”  Since 1948, the Golden Gophers and Badgers have battled for The Paul Bunyan Axe.  The scores of each game are recorded on the axe’s handle.

Southern Methodist and Texas Christian Universities are located 40 miles apart.  In 1935, the teams met to decide the Southwest Conference and a trip to the Rose Bowl.  SMU and TCU have battled for the Iron Skillet since 1946.

Indiana and Purdue have been rivals since 1891.  The Hoosier State’s two Big Ten Schools have been playing for the Old Oaken Bucket since 1925.  The Boilermakers lead the overall series, but the Hoosiers have won the last four.

Montana versus Montana State – the “Brawl of the Wild” – is the oldest FCS rivalry west of the Mississippi.  Since 2001, the teams have played for the Great Divide Trophy, and the school with the most wins at the end of the 21st century will hold the trophy forever.

Introduced in 1935, the Floyd of Rosedale goes to the winner of the Iowa – Minnesota game.  The prize is a pig-shaped bronze statue.

SEC rivals Mississippi State and Ole Miss play in the Egg Bowl in their final game of the regular season.  Held over Thanksgiving Weekend, the schools have battled for the Golden Egg annually since 1927.

In 1903, Michigan coach Fielding Yost was concerned Minnesota fans might contaminate his team’s water, so he had a student manager purchase a five-gallon jug from a local store.  The Little Brown Jug  remained in Minneapolis and, six years later, became the game’s trophy.  Since 1968, the Wolverines have claimed the ceramic vessel in 40 of the last 44 games.

The Fremont Cannon is awarded to the Nevada – UNLV winner each year.  Built in 1970, the trophy is a replica of a Howitzer cannon and is the heaviest and most expensive trophy in college football.  The winning team gets to paint the wooden carriage in their school colors.

In 1939, UCLA’s alumni association presented a 295-pound brass train bell as a gift to the student body.  It was rung by UCLA cheerleaders at football games after each Bruin score.  In 1941, the bell was stolen by a group of USC students and hidden.  A year later, the student body presidents of both schools agreed that the bell would become the trophy for the annual UCLA – USC football game.

In 1925, Illinois and Ohio State began playing for a live turtle, picked for its expected long life as a symbol of the anticipated long life of the rivalry.  When the reptile died the following year, a carved wooden replica took its place.  The Illibuck Trophy is the second oldest trophy in the Big Ten, behind the Little Brown Jug.  The scores of previous games are painted on the wooden turtle’s back.